+ 243 99 4223128

Home » The Faculty Of Medecine And Community Health

The Faculty Of Medecine And Community Health


The school of medicine is a start-up faculty set up in 1991. It is operational in a building built in the immediate vicinity of Panzi hill and nearby the General Hospital of Panzi which constitutes a place of clinical internship and practical assignments for students. It awarded its first degrees in 1998, there were 5 graduates. The school of medecine presently manages more than 1200 male and female students.

Currently, it awards degrees to at least 83 physicians each year since its inception to date . It has already awarded degrees to more than 382 general practitioners who are mostly providing services to the congolese people , couple of others work in the countries of the Great Lakes region (Rwanda ,Burundi,…). Some of those physicians pursue their specialty training in medecine at African universities,specially (University of Cheik Anta Diop in Dakar , University of Benin and Ivory Coast).

Objectives and Mission.

At the completion of medical training , the recipient must acquire solid clinical judgement and perfect ability : he/she also must be equipped with expanded scientific and human knowledge , must have undergone complete training in Public health and have wide medical skills. He must be able to :

Provide patients adequate healthcare services at healthcare institutions in urban and rural areas ;

Conduct analysis of problems identified in the community and design a plan of action by using appropriate measures of struggle ;

Organize healthcare programs of one’s community, encourage active participation of the community in the design, implementation of the healthcare appraisal taking into account the physical ,cultural, socioeconomic aspects of this community.

Train an average and supplemental healthcare staff capable of achieving a healthcare action plan. Prove an irreproachable medical ethics through love of the community one is serving and respect of assets put at his /her disposal which belong to the community.

Endeavor to maintain medical skills through continuous training courses, expand one’s professional knowledge and skills , then focus on specialty, research and education.


Structural organization.

The faculty of medecine at the Evangelical University of Africa is comprised of four major bodies :

The deanship;

The deputy deanship ;

The Academic faculty secretary;

The Administrative faculty secretary ;

The deanship is the supreme body of the faculty. Since its inception in 1991, the school of medecine is run by a dean. Currently, the faculty is organized in the following manner :

Dean : Professor MBO MUKONKOLE Jean Paulin ;

Deputy Deans :

Head of educational activities : Dr ALUMETI MUNYALI Désiré (Teaching Associate)

Head of research activities : Dr LUHIRIRI NDANDA Levi (Teaching Associate) ;

Head of clinic : Professor Dr Denis MUKWEGE.

Faculty secretaries :

Academic services assistant: Dr BULAMBO RIZIKI Patrick;

Administrative services assistant : KABENE BASHI Barthelemie ;

Computer analyst assistant :Eric AMANI.


Laboratory assistants:

Head Lab assistant : associates MITIMA KASHOSI Theophile ;

Deputy lab assistant : Teaching associate MITIMA Bienfait .

Presently, the faculty of medecine has at its disposal 11 Professors ,14 Teaching associates plus 11 specialists in medecine .

Educational organization .

The school of medecine organizes its educational programs in the following manner:

Undergraduate Programs (3 years of biomedical undergraduate studies) ;

Graduate programs : (4 years of medical studies with a degree in medicine);

Postgraduate programs (5 years of studies with a specialty in Medecine).

These courses are delivered by different departments .The faculty has six departments namely :

The department of internal Medecine,

The department of surgery ,

The department of Obstretrics and gynecology ,

The department of Pediatrics ,

The department of biomedical sciences and Public health.

Each department is organized in the following manner :

  • Head of department ,
  • Head of theoretical courses,
  • The educational department assistant ,
  • Head of postgraduate seminars ,
  • The research department assistant ,
  • Head of weekly seminars ,
  • The department head of services.
  • Head of internships ( internships supervisor )
Print Friendly