+ 243 99 4223128

Home » Summer School

Summer School

Summer School

The Evangelical University in Africa and Esri Germany will organize Summer School about GIS in Bukavu ,DRC from 12th   through 19th  July 2015. GIS means Geographic Information Systems which is a  key and cutting-edge 21st century technology.

The third GIS Summer School’s  program  in Bukavu  will  aim at  creating schools database  in the three districts of Bukavu city(Kadutu,Ibanda and Bagira).  Highschool students (secondary schools pupils ) will have to gather data from schools by using GPS and questionnaires.During this   week ,the activities will be conducted under the motto <<Gather-Comprehend-Apply>>.

The main objective of the third summer school in Bukavu is to demonstrate how pupils (highschool students) could utilize GIS technology and GPS  in order to study data gathering process  in the schools of  Bukavu city by means of a questionnaire.  By means of GIS tools , data  will be analyzed ,set on maps and published. Database must be used for analytical purpose and future improvement in the educational area.

<< Human senses>> perceive >>’’ technical sense’’  explains >>”.

A good education is one of the most important products  a  human being could receive in society. It enlarges human spirit with knowledge , It  enables the growth of human mind with knowledge ,it acts as a key to success for an individual and therefore  contibutes to a significant growth and  positive impact on the country.

To ensure a high-quality education , educational institutions should be regularly investigated and visited. In order to know the school location and its real configuration ,GIS could help to identify  differences but also provides assistance to the Ministry of education to plan on a fair share of resources.
Theory and practice.

The activity will be launched  by the introduction of GPS and GIS tools  presented by specialists of the Evangelical University in Africa and Esri Germany which  will be followed by practical assignments in the field  as well as in the computer lab :

Orientation

• Taking  pictures  through the use of  GPS.

.  Collecting and   analyzing data.

. Observe, take pictures with accuracy and describe properly.

•Differentiate, assess and decide.

•Recognize database data.

•  Make a distinction between  genuine environment  and its  technically altered description.

Working with GIS.

• Data entry.

• Data checking.

•Data analysis.

•  Designing  maps.

•Presentation of results during the closing ceremony.

Participation

Up to 24 highschool students(senior 4 and 5 secondary schools) with a good  proficiency in english language, computer skills and geography will be selected from 12  highschools(secondary schools) located in Bukavu . Participating in the camp is free of charge including accommodation ,meals, assistance, computers and the use of software.

Required external approval.

Candidates must obtain approval from one of their teachers,  school adminsistration, and parents who gave them permission to participate.

Good  luck.

We call students (pupils) to design a genuine GIS plan within  the  7 days of their school  vacation. Highschool students (pupils) will visit schools, collect and analyze data under an effective supervision. Throughout the summer school ,  highschool students will be escorted and supported by UEA’s experts and ESRI Germany.

Print Friendly

+ 243 99 4223128

Accueil » Ecole d’été

Ecole d’été

ECOLE D’ETE

L’Université Evangélique en Afrique et Esri Allemagne effectueront une Summer School sur le SIG à Bukavu, en RDC du 12 au 19 Juillet 2015. SIG signifie Système d’Information Géographique, une technologie clé du 21e siècle.

La troisième école d’été SIG à Bukavu aura comme objectif la création d’une base de données des écoles dans les trois communes de la ville (de Kadutu, Ibanda et Bagira). Les élèves du secondaire vont recueillir des données des écoles utilisant le GPS et des questionnaires. La semaine de projet se déroule sous la devise «Collecter – Comprendre – Appliquer ».

L’objectif de cette troisième école d’été à Bukavu est de montrer comment les élèves peuvent utiliser la technologie SIG et le GPS pour étudier le processus collecte des données des écoles dans la ville à l’aide d’un questionnaire. Avec des outils de SIG les données seront analysées, situé sur des cartes et publiées. La base de données doit être utilisée pour l’analyse et pour des améliorations futures dans le secteur de l’éducation.

« Les Sens humains» perçoivent – « Les sens techniques » expliquent

Une bonne éducation est l’un de produits les plus importants qu’un être humain peut recevoir. Il élargit l’esprit humain avec la connaissance, agit comme une clé de la réussite pour l’individu et contribue donc à la croissance significative et l’impact positif sur tout un pays.

Pour assurer la qualité de l’enseignement, les établissements devraient être visités régulièrement et enquêtés. Connaître l’emplacement et la configuration réelle de l’école, le SIG peut aider à visualiser les différences et d’aider le Ministère de l’Education de planifier sur une répartition équitable des ressources.

Théorie et pratique

Le camp débutera par une introduction au GPS et au SIG présenté par des spécialistes en SIG de l’Université Evangélique en Afrique et Esri Allemagne suivie par des travaux de terrain et des travaux pratiques au laboratoire informatique.

Orientations :

• Capture des coordonnées avec GPS

Recueillir et analyser les informations

• Observer, saisir avec précision et décrire exactement

• différencier, évaluer et décider

• Reconnaître les données de la base de données

• Distinguer entre l’environnement réel et sa représentation techniquement changé

Travailler avec les SIG

• La saisie des données

• La vérification des données

• l’analyse des données

• Créez des cartes

• Présenter les résultats lors de la cérémonie de clôture

Participation

Jusqu’à 24 élèves de 4e et 5e  secondaire avec un bon niveau d’anglais, d’informatique et de compétences Géographie seront sélectionnés à partir de 12 écoles secondaires de Bukavu. La participation au camp est gratuit, y compris l’hébergement, les repas, l’assistance, l’ordinateur et l’utilisation du logiciel.

Approbation externe requis

Les candidats doivent obtenir l’approbation d’un de leurs enseignants, de l’administration de leur école et leurs parents qui donnent la permission de la participation.

Votre chance

Nous invitons les élèves à faire un projet SIG réel pendant 7 jours de leurs vacances scolaires. Les élèves visiteront des écoles, collecter et analyser les données sous une supervision compétente. Pendant la durée de l’école d’été, les élèves seront accompagnés et soutenus par des experts de l’UEA et Esri Allemagne.

Print Friendly