+ 243 99 4223128

Home » The Faculty Of Social Sciences

The Faculty Of Social Sciences

OVERVIEW.

The Faculty of Social Sciences (FSS) is among one of the faculties offered at the Evangelical University in Africa (UEA). It has been founded in 2013 with the purpose of handling post–conflict issues in a society characterized by deterioration of social cohesion, national unity, consecutive conflicts , trauma, criminality, social pathologies, gender-based violence ,etc. For this reason, the faculty organizes two departments for the purpose of confronting the above challenges.

STUDENTS’ GROWTH.

The number of students grow yearly. This growth is a noticeable factor that reflects the vital importance of areas of study organized within the Faculty of Social Sciences and the way UEA satisfy the aspirations of African Great Lakes Region States .

VISION

– Contribute to building a society of social cohesion and national unity , a society in which conflicts are alleviated.

– Contribute to shaping a society where men and women have access to basic social services , a society with a rare social crisis.

MISSION

To train executives , social workers and conflict resolution professionals capable of resolving social problems and contributing to social cohesion as well as resolving daily conflicts.

DEPARTMENTS.

The Faculty of Social Sciences organizes two departments since its inception by UEA. These departments are as follows : the department of Peace and Conflict Transformation plus the department of Social Services (SS):

1. The Department of Social Services.

The objective of this department is to train social workers’ assistants in the undergraduate level and social workers in the graduate level by providing an outstanding education through theories in social services , participatory methods in social services ,analysis of social problems , professionalization focused on the individual, group , community and research-action.

2. The Department of Peace and Conflict transformation.

The objective of this department is to train elite groups capable of promoting a culture of peace in the African Great lakes region in general and DR Congo in particular who will be capable of inventing appropriate approaches for the prevention and transformation of conflicts generated from the formation of States in Africa.

PROFESSIONAL OPPORTUNITIES.

After the completion of studies, graduates at the Faculty of Social Sciences could get opportunities to be hired by international institutions such as the African Union , the CIRGL, U.N., MONUSCO, I.R.C. (INTERNATIONAL Rescue Committee), SADC, CEAC, CEPGL, Institute for Justice and Reconciliation for South Africa. Additionally, they will be useful to the Congolese State and thus contribute effectively on issues relating to marital conflicts, conflicts of associations, religious , political conflicts, conflicts of land ownership, mining , decentralized territorial entities conflicts , corporate conflicts … Finally, graduates have the skills to reintegrate professionally individuals in phase of readjustment in Congolese society. Briefly, they add their expertise in order to strengthen structures functionning in the social services and the transformation of conflicts.

COMPETENCE .

The Faculty of social sciences has recourse to eminent professors with the purpose of offering top-notch education . Lecturers come from Germany ,Belgium, France, Canada, Cameroon, Norway, Sudan and DR Congo. The academics include professors, full professors , associate professors , teaching associates and teaching assistants. Each one of them participates in his/her area of expertise to make sure effective training is provided.

ACADEMIC AND EXTRACURRICULAR ACTIVITIES .

Each year , students visit public and private institutions under guidance of supervisors in order to acquire skilled training. Enrolled students at the department of social services visit organizations such as Laisser l’Afrique vivre(LAV), Village d’Enfants SOS ,EK’ABANA ,the social services of PANZI General Hospital , PANZI Foundation , Dorcas projects, Legal Clinic , Cite’ de la joie ,SOSAME, CAPH , BVES ,INSS, etc

– Enrolled students at the department of Peace and transformation of conflicts have the opportunity to visit the following organizations :ADEPAE, HERITIER JUSTICE , Peace and Justice Commission ,OGP, Reseau d’innovation organisationnelle (RIO), APC ,UNHABITAT, Dialogue and Mediation framework ,CDJP,IFDP,etc .

Each year ,students at the Faculty of Social Sciences go on scientific outings to the organizations engaged in Peace and Transformation of conflicts issues away from the Southern Kivu Province ,notably at Centre Don Bosco NGANGI , ULPGL Center of Peace in the Northern Kivu province and les Sœurs de la charite’ , Centre Caritas, Conflicts Management Center of the National University of Rwanda and the Organization ‘’Never Again’’ in Kigali.

The Faculty organized: Scientific students’ Outing in Goma.

Scientific Students’ outing in Kigali.

Conferences gathering political and administrative officials, public officials, officials from public and private organizations together with healthcare workers.

A conference held at the faculty, presented by : Dr Denis MUKWEGE .

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS.

The Faculty of Social Sciences enrolls each year fresh secondary school/ highschool graduates or alumni who hold secondary school certficates or highschool diplomas. Admissions requirements are provided at the Main Registrar’s office. Students might enroll on line using the following electronic adress : enter :http://www.uea.ac.cd ,click on the icon <<registration>> then << online registration>>,lastly follow the procedure.

ACADEMIC PROGRAMS AND FUTURE PROSPECTS.

The faculty of Social Sciences organizes two educational programs ( at the undergraduate and graduate level). Specialization commences in the first year of undergraduate program offered by each department.

Undergraduate studies are offered in three years training program . Graduate studies are offered in two years training program called ‘’licence’’ in french meaning. Within a perspective of future educational reforms, the concept of undergraduate (graduat : French meaning) will be replaced by the graduate one (licence :French meaning),this latter will be replaced by the Master and lastly the PhD . The student will be trained in a competent educational system and obtain his/her PhD within eight years period of time. These opportunities will be granted by UEA.

Print Friendly

+ 243 99 4223128

Accueil » Faculté des Sciences Sociales

Faculté des Sciences Sociales

PRESENTATION

La Faculté des Sciences Sociales (FSS) est l’une des facultés de l’Université Evangélique en Afrique (UEA). Elle a été créée en 2013 pour répondre aux défis posés par une société post-conflit caractérisée par la détérioration de la cohésion sociale, l’unité nationale, les conflits récurrents, les traumatismes, la criminalité, les pathologies sociales, les violences basées sur le genre, etc. Pour cette raison, la faculté organise deux départements pour répondre aux défis ci-dessus.

EVOLUTION DES ETUDIANTS 

Les effectifs sont croissants année par année. Cette croissance atteste l’importance des filières organisées au sein de la Faculté des Sciences Sociales et la manière dont l’UEA répond aux aspirations des Etats de la région des grands lacs africains.
VISION 

–    Contribuer à l’émergence d’une société moins conflictuelle où existent une cohésion sociale et l’unité nationale
–    Contribuer à la transformation d’une société où les hommes et les femmes accèdent à des services sociaux de base et où il y a de moins en moins des crises sociales
MISSION

Former des cadres, travailleurs sociaux et transformateurs des conflits capables de contribuer à la résolution des problèmes sociaux et à la cohésion sociale, ainsi que la résolution des conflits au quotidien.
DEPARTEMENTS

La FSS organise deux départements dès sa création par l’UEA. Il s’agit du département de Paix et Transformation des Conflits (PTC) et du département de Service Social (SS) :

1.    Le Département de Service Social,

L’objectif de ce département est de former des assistants sociaux au premier cycle et des travailleurs sociaux au second cycle en dispensant un enseignement de qualité par les théories en service social, les méthodes d’intervention en service social, l’analyse des problèmes sociaux, la professionnalisation axée sur l’individu, le groupe et la communauté, et la recherche-action.
2.    Le Département de Paix et Transformation des Conflits,

L’objectif de ce département est de former des élites capables de promouvoir une culture de paix dans la région des grands lacs africains en général et en R.D. Congo en particulier, capables d’inventer des approches appropriées à la prévention et à la transformation des conflits nés avec la formation des Etats en Afrique.

DEBOUCHES

Après la formation, les étudiants finalistes à la FSS seront employés dans les institutions internationales notamment l’Union Africaine, la CIRGL ; l’ONU, la MONUSCO, la CICR, la SADC, la CEAC, la CEPGL, Institut pour la Justice et la Réconciliation de l’Afrique du Sud, etc. Ensuite ils seront utiles à l’Etat Congolais et agiront avec efficacité sur les conflits conjugaux, religieux, associatifs, les conflits politiques, fonciers, miniers, des entités territoriales décentralisées, des entreprises… Enfin, les étudiants finalistes ont la capacité de réinsérer professionnellement les individus en phase de réadaptation dans la société congolaise. Bref, ils apportent leur expertise pour renforcer les structures œuvrant dans le service social et la transformation des conflits.
LES COMPETENCES

La faculté des sciences sociales recourt aux éminents professeurs pour offrir une formation de qualité Ils proviennent d’Allemagne, Belgique, France, Canada, Cameroun, Norvège, Soudan et R.D. Congo. Le lot est constitué des professeurs ordinaires, professeurs, professeurs associés, chefs des travaux et assistants. Chacun intervient dans son domaine d’expertise pour assurer une formation par compétence.

ACTIVITES ACADEMIQUES ET PARA ACADEMIQUES

Chaque année, les étudiants font des visites guidées dans des institutions publiques et privées pour acquérir une formation par compétence. Les étudiants inscrits au département de Service Social visitent les organisations telles que Laisser l’Afrique vivre (LAV), Village d’Enfants SOS, EK’ABANA, le service social de l’Hôpital Général de référence de PANZI, Fondation PANZI, les projets Dorcas, Clinique Juridique, Cité de la joie, SOSAME, CAPH, BVES, INSS, etc.
–    Les étudiants inscrits au département de Paix et Transformation des Conflits visitent les structures ci-après : ADEPAE, HERITIER DE LA JUSTICE, Commission Justice et Paix, OGP, Réseau d’innovation  organisationnelle (RIO), APC, UNHABITAT, les cadres de Dialogue et de Médiation, CDJP, IFDP, etc.
Chaque année, les étudiants de la Faculté des Sciences Sociales effectuent des sorties scientifiques dans les organisations travaillant sur la paix et la transformation des conflits en dehors de la province du Sud-Kivu notamment au Centre Don Bosco NGANGI, Centre de Paix de l’ULPGL au Nord-Kivu et les Sœurs de la Charité, Centre Caritas, Centre Don Bosco, le Centre de Gestion des Conflits de l’Université Nationale du Rwanda et l’Organisation Never Again à Kigali.

Sortie scientifique des étudiants à Goma
Sortie scientifique des étudiants effectuée à Kigali
Des conférences des autorités politico-administratives, autorités publiques, des autorités organisations publiques et privées, avec les agents sanitaires.
Conférence tenue à la Faculté avec le Dr Denis MUKWEGE

CONDITION D’ADMISSION

La FSS inscrit chaque année tous les élèves finalistes ou anciens ayant obtenu le diplôme d’Etat. Les conditions d’admission sont livrées à l’apparitorat Central. Les étudiants peuvent s’inscrire en ligne à l’adresse électronique ci-après : tapez : http://www.uea.ac.cd  cliquez sur l’onglet « inscription » puis « inscription en ligne » et suivre la procédure.
CURSUS ACADEMIQUE ET PERSPECTIVES
La FSS entreprend deux cycles de formation. La spécialisation  débute en première année de graduat pour chaque département.
Le premier cycle comporte trois années de formation. Le second cycle de deux années de formation est appelé la licence. Avec les réformes en perspective, le concept de graduat sera remplacé par celui de licence, ce dernier par celui de master et de doctorat. L’étudiant sera formé dans un système de formation par compétence et obtiendra son doctorat dans un délai record de huit années. Ces possibilités seront offertes par l’UEA.

Print Friendly