+ 243 99 4223128

Home » Historical Background

Historical Background

Evangelical University in Africa is a christian protestant institution of higher education created in october 1990 under the initiative of Reverend Pastor RUHIGITA NDAGORA as a legal Representative and chairperson of the eighth community of pentecostal churches in Central Africa « 8th CEPAC » formerly called community of Pentecostal churches in Zaire « CEPZA ».

From its inception,  UEA was a private business owned by the Swedish pentecostal churches  ,  namely the Eighth community of pentecostal churches in Zaire (8th CEPZA),the Association of Pentecostal churches of Rwanda (ADPR),the community of Pentecostal churches of Burundi (CEPBU).These are legal representatives of the three communities  ,more particularly RUHIGITA NDAGORA BUGWIKA(8th CEPEZA),SANZURWIMO JOSEPH(ADEPR)and KABWA MESHAK(CEPBU) who jointly signed  the official declaration of creating the university of Pentecostal churches  in Africa”UEA” in 1990.

Due to the slackening pace of ADEPR and CEPBU activities ,CEPAC(formerly called CEPZA) shifted its trend toward the 40th CECA in 1991, the Pentecostal church of Nairobi , Mbarara pentecostal church ,the pentecostal church of Tabora and the Pentecostal church of Chad .( With reference letter to 003/005/R.L/CEPZA/91 adressed to the Ministry of Higher education and Scientific Research in Kinshasa /Gombe).It is particularly the 40th CECA which worked effectively until  it gained renown as community founder alongside  8th CEPAC.  The 5th community of Pentecostal churches in Africa also joined the two communities .  Some time later the 26th free methodist community in Congo and the Church of Christ in Congo(ECC) became affiliated.

Businessmen from Southern kivu province  gathered in the founding of  the university in order to combine their efforts and contribute to  UEA thriving.

Pentecostal churches of Congo, Rwanda and Burundi decided to become guarantors and responsible by officially taking legal proceedings of  creating  an  university  built on evangelical  inspiration  in Central Africa  with the motto :<<Faith-science-work>> emphasizing on the  following spiritual principle based on the biblical verse:<<The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom>>,proverbs1:7.

On the one hand ,the project of founding a protestant university has been spurred by the increasing number of pentecostal church members in Central Africa and on the other hand, by raising awareness of a growing quest of education and scientific research.This initiative has been promoted by the Congolese  legislation which grants freedom and opportunities to churches  to contribute to the  training of youth  for  the development of the country.

Goals and mission.

The act ,statutes and presidential decree definitively accrediting  the  founding of UEA  approve the following objectives :

–   education, research and scientific  finding publications.

–   Moral teachings in compliance with christian ethics  promoting  an useful intellectual christian elite who could contibute to church growth and its edification ,additionally  building the society .

Its overall vision is promoting in the African Great Lakes Region  skilled human resources  grounded in moral and professional integrity suitable to their immediate area.

Three key objectives direct UEA action plan ,namely:

–   Providing  society  and protestant churches in Africa  with top professionals  equipped with general  education and specialized training in various sectors, endowed with intellectual as well as moral qualities.

–   Organize research in all areas of taught courses in order to discover effective methods capable of contributing to the quality of work and find solutions resolving actual problems  in society.

–     Publish research findings through scientific journals.

Print Friendly

+ 243 99 4223128

Accueil » Historique

Historique

 L’Université Evangélique en Afrique est une institution des confessions religieuses protestantes d’enseignement supérieur et universitaire créée en octobre 1990, sous l’initiative du Révérend Pasteur RUHIGITA NDAGORA, en tant que Représentant légal et Président de la 8ème Communauté des Eglises de Pentecôte en Afrique Centrale « 8ème CEPAC », jadis Communauté des Eglises de Pentecôte au Zaïre « CEPZa ».

En ses débuts, l’UEA était une affaire privée des Eglises de Pentecôte issues de la Suède en l’occurrence la 8ème Communauté des Eglises de Pentecôte au Zaïre (8ème CEPZa), l’Association des Eglises de Pentecôte au Rwanda (l’ADPR), la Communauté des Eglises de Pentecôte au Burundi (CEPBU). Ce sont les représentants légaux de ces trois communautés, notamment RUHIGITA NDAGORA BUGWIKA (8ème CEPZa), SANZURWIMO JOSEPH (ADEPR) et KABWA MESHAK (CEPBU) qui ont signé conjointement en 1990 la déclaration officielle de création de l’Université des Eglises de Pentecôte en Afrique « UEPA ».

Suite au relâchement de l’ADEPR et de la CEPBU, la CEPAC (alors CEPZa) se tournera en 1991 vers la 40ème CECA, l’Eglise de Pentecôte de Nairobi, l’Eglise de Pentecôte de Mbarara, l’Eglise de Pentecôte de Tabora et l’Eglise de Pentecôte du Tchad. (cfr lettre 003/005/R.L/CEPZa/91 adressée au Ministre de l’Enseignement supérieur universitaire et de la Recherche scientifique, à Kinshasa/Gombe). Seule la 40ème CECA a travaillé avec efficacité jusqu’à être reconnue comme Communauté fondatrice à côté de la 8ème CEPAC. A ces deux communautés, s’était associée aussi la 5ème Communauté des Eglises de Pentecôte en Afrique (5ème CELPA). Plus tard, se sont affiliées la 26ème Communauté méthodiste libre au Congo (26ème CMLC) et l’Eglise du Christ au Congo (E.C.C).

Les hommes d’affaires du Sud-Kivu se sont regroupés dans la Fondation universitaire en vue de conjuguer leurs efforts et ont contribué à l’épanouissement de l’U.E.A.

Les Eglises de Pentecôte du Congo, du Rwanda et du Burundi se sont portées garantes et responsables en prenant l’acte officiel pour la création d’une Université d’inspiration Evangélique en Afrique Centrale, ayant pour devise : « Foi – Science – Travail », avec comme substance spirituelle, le passage biblique suivant : « La crainte de l’Eternel est le commencement de la sagesse ». Proverbes 1:7 .

Le projet de création d’une université protestante a été stimulé, d’une part par le nombre croissant des membres de l’Eglise de Pentecôte en Afrique Centrale et, d’autre part, par l’éveil d’une quête croissante de l’éducation et de la recherche scientifique. Cette initiative a été encouragée par la législation congolaise qui accorde aux églises la liberté et l’opportunité de contribuer à la formation de la jeunesse pour le développement du pays.

Mission et Objectifs

L’acte de création, les statuts et le décret présidentiel agréant définitivement l’UEA, lui reconnaissent les missions suivantes :

–    L’enseignement, la recherche et la vulgarisation scientifique ;

–    La formation morale conforme à l’éthique chrétienne d’une élite intellectuelle utile, capable de faire face à l’édification et au développement de l’église et de la société.

Sa vision globale est de promouvoir dans la région des Grands Lacs africains, des ressources humaines compétentes, initiées aux principes de l’intégrité morale et professionnelle adaptés à l’environnement immédiat.

Trois objectifs essentiels guident le programme d’action de l’UEA, à savoir :

–    Pourvoir à la société et aux églises protestantes en Afrique des cadres de haut niveau de formation générale et spécialisée dans les différents secteurs, dotés des qualités tant intellectuelles, morales que spirituelles ;

–   Organiser la recherche dans tous les domaines des branches enseignées en vue de découvrir des méthodes capables de contribuer à l’amélioration de la qualité du travail et de trouver des solutions aux problèmes réels de la société ;

–     Vulgariser les résultats des recherches à travers les publications scientifiques.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Bonjour,

La période des incriptions pour l'année académique 2018-2019 part du 01/08/2018 - 31/10/2018. A ce jour, les inscriptions sont cloturées à l'UEA. Pour plus d'informations sur les inscriptions, contactez-nous à l'adresse : inscriptions@uea.ac.cd

Nous vous remercions d'avoir visité notre site !