+ 243 99 4223128

Home » Clinical Psychology

Clinical Psychology

PRESENTATION

Panzi Hospital was founded in 1999 by Dr. Denis Mukwege. Since then, it has an average of 250 patients a month who are survivors of sexual violence and others suffering from fistula due to giving birth in bad conditions subsequent to different wars and generalized poverty in rural areas. The psychosocial management programme is done by a group of 3 psychologists and 9 psychosocial assistants. This number is insufficient for a good management of this service. The psychologists and other professionals who work in the structures of taking care of all sorts of violence in Bukavu city and its neighbourhoods have a pressing need of an enhenced and structured training for better responding to all sorts of trauma whose consequences will affect many generations.

GOAL, OBJECTIVE AND VISION OF THE PROGRAMME

The Evangelical University in Africa has decided to offer a training of highly qualified clinician psychologists, in collaboration with the Hospital of Panzi as principal place of practice and with all the other institutions offering the most adequate possible response to female survivors of violence of any sort. That is why it has just created within the Faculty of Medicine and Community Health a department of Clinical Psychology.

Goal of the programme

This programme leans on:

  • a contribution of theoretical knowledge in the domain of pathological and clinical psychology, psycho-traumatology, psychosomatic, psychotherapy and cultural psychology,
  • a personal training including a clinical experiment in the form of a training course and an experiment of personal implication in a group of supervision,
  • a contribution of knowledge concerning the techniques of investigation and evaluation in varied clinical fields,
  • sensitization on the problems arising from the professional practice and its deontology.

Objectives

General objective

The objective of Clinical Psychology Programme is to make students acquire a high theoretical and practical professional competence, especially those who are involved in the psychology training and who desire to work in the domain of clinical psychology, psychology and psycho-therapy, in the particular context of the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Specific objectives pursued by the Programme

  1. To offer the students a fundamental basis in clinical psychology. This includes the conceptual, clinical and empirical foundations in relationship with the different traditions of the clinical psychology, and its contemporary actualizations.
  2. To give priority to three models which are: therapeutic-psychoanalytic, systemic and cognitive-behavioural, in order to solve particular situations of trauma which are in connection with all kinds of violence in the Democratic Republic of Congo.
  3. To facilitate access to diverse means and methods of critical exam’s discipline: varied methods (qualitative and quantitative), critical distance vis-à-vis the conceptual models, epistemology and history depending on the clinical traditions.
  4. To offer the foundations of the evaluation and diagnosis in clinical psychology, particularly: the tests, the questionnaires, the protocols, the principal diagnostic systems, the drawing up of reports, the different psychologies in the perspective of development and the development of the human being.
  5. To facilitate the gradual acquisition of competences by supervising and consulting, notably by a vicarious learning during a clinical training based on a basic didactic teaching.
  6. To center any evaluation and intervention on one’s permanent questioning as well as a reflexive conscience of the context and the relational elements which are linked to the everyday task of the psychologist-clinician.

Vision of the programme

The programme aims at promoting development, bio-psychosocial well-being of human being and the mental health of the people living in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. These people are heirs of tortured history, diversified culture, a society which is economically in transition, and political structures which are in search of stability 50 years after independence.

The teaching programme targets to form a high standard psychologist-clinician who is able to act as a contributor to the methods of examination and up-to-date psychological assistance, a competent interlocutor in a multidisciplinary team, a professional as well as researcher who is capable of thinking about their his practice in a particular sociocultural context and share this through scientific publications at an international level.

Resources

At the very beginning, the Department of Clinical Psychology will benefit from a support from some European Universities (Stockholm, Paris VIII…) and from some other competences existing in the universities of the Democratic Republic of the Congo such as the Universities of Kinshasa and Lubumbashi even from the universities of the Great Lakes region. The Evangelical University in Africa must design, as quickly as possible, a training programme for professors of Clinical Psychology which matches the high leadership to which the University aspires in this domain.

Print Friendly

+ 243 99 4223128

Accueil » Psyschologie Clinique

Psyschologie Clinique

PRESENTATION

L’Hôpital de Panzi fut fondé par le Dr Denis Mukwege en 1999. Depuis lors, il reçoit une moyenne de 250 patientes par mois entre les survivantes de violence sexuelle et les porteuses de fistules suite à l’accouchement dans de mauvaises conditions consécutives aux différentes guerres et à la pauvreté généralisée dans les milieux ruraux. Le programme de prise en charge psychosociale est assuré par un groupe de 3 psychologues et 9 assistantes psychosociales. Ce nombre est bien insuffisant pour une prise en charge de qualité. Ces psychologues et d’autres professionnels qui travaillent dans des structures de prise en charge de toutes sortes de violences dans la ville de Bukavu et des environs ont un besoin pressant d’une formation structurée et approfondie pour mieux répondre à toutes sortes de traumatismes dont les conséquences vont toucher plusieurs générations.

BUT, OBJET ET VISION DE CE PROGRAMME

L’Université Evangélique en Afrique est décidée d’offrir une formation de psychologues cliniciens hautement qualifiés, en collaboration avec l’Hôpital de Panzi comme principal lieu de pratique et avec toutes les autres institutions en train d’offrir une réponse la plus adéquate possible aux survivantes de toutes les violences. Voilà pourquoi elle vient de créer au sein de la Faculté de Médecine et Santé Communautaire un département de Psychologie clinique.

But du programme

Ce programme répose sur :

  • un apport de connaissances théoriques dans le champ de la psychologie clinique et pathologique, de la psycho-traumatologie, de la psychosomatique, de la psychothérapie et de la psychologie culturelle,
  • une formation personnelle comprenant une expérience clinique sous forme d’un stage et une expérience d’implication personnelle dans un groupe de supervision,
  • un apport de connaissances concernant les techniques d’investigation et d’évaluation dans des domaines cliniques variés,
  • une sensibilisation aux problèmes posés par la pratique professionnelle et sa déontologie.

Objectifs

Objectif général

L’objectif de ce Programme de Psychologie Clinique est de faire acquérir une compétence professionnelle théorique et pratique de haut niveau de spécialisation aux étudiants engagés dans une formation de psychologue, et désirant exercer dans le domaine de la psychologie clinique, de la psychopathologie et de la psychothérapie, dans un contexte particulier, celui de la République Démocratique du Congo.

Objectifs spécifiques poursuivis par le Programme

  1. Offrir aux étudiants une base fondamentale en psychologie clinique. Ceci inclut des fondements conceptuels, cliniques et empiriques en lien avec les différentes traditions de la psychologie clinique, et ses actualisations contemporaines.
  2. Privilégier trois modèles thérapeutiques – psychanalytique, systémique et cognitivo-comportemental, – pour résoudre des situations particulières de traumatisme liées aux violences de toutes sortes en République Démocratique du Congo.
  3. Faciliter l’accès à une diversité de moyens et de méthodes d’examen critique de la discipline : méthodes variées (quantitatives et qualitatives), distance critique face aux modèles conceptuels, épistémologie et histoire en fonction des traditions cliniques.
  4. Offrir les fondements de l’évaluation et du diagnostic en psychologie clinique, particulièrement : les tests, les questionnaires, les protocoles, les principaux systèmes diagnostiques, la rédaction de rapports, les différentes psychopathologies dans la perspective du développement et de l’épanouissement de l’être humain.
  5. Faciliter l’acquisition graduelle de compétences en supervision et en consultation, notamment par un apprentissage vicariant au cours d’un stage clinique, en s’appuyant également sur un enseignement didactique de base.
  6. Placer au cœur de toute évaluation et de toute intervention, un questionnement permanent de soi et une conscience réflexive du contexte et des éléments relationnels en lien avec la tâche quotidienne de psychologue clinicien.

Vision du programme

Ce programme vise à promouvoir le développement, le bien-être biopsychosocial de l’humain et la santé mentale des personnes vivant dans  un pays, la République Démocratique du Congo, héritier d’une histoire fort meurtrie, d’une culture très diversifiée,  d’une société économiquement en transition,  de structures politiques à la recherche d’une stabilité 50 ans après son indépendance.

Les enseignements de ce programme visent à former un psychologue clinicien de haute facture qui soit, à la fois, un intervenant assuré des méthodes d’examen et d’aide psychologique les plus actuelles, un interlocuteur compétent au sein d’une équipe multidisciplinaire, un professionnel doublé d’un chercheur capable de réfléchir sur sa pratique dans un contexte socioculturel particulier et de partager cette réflexion au travers des publications scientifiques de niveau international.

Ressources

Le Département de Psychologie Clinique va bénéficier à ses débuts de l’appui des professeurs de quelques Universités Européennes (Stockholm, Paris 8…) et des compétences existant dans les autres universités de la République Démocratique du Congo (Universités de Kinshasa et de Lubumbashi) et de la Région des Grands Lacs. L’Université Evangélique en Afrique devra rapidement concevoir un programme de formation des professeurs de Psychologie clinique à la hauteur du leadership auquel elle aspire dans ce domaine.

Print Friendly